Home > Computers, Others > A.L.I.C.E

A.L.I.C.E

A.L.I.C.E

A.L.I.C.E. is a chatterbot, an AI (artificial intelligence) computer program that can carry on almost humanlike conversation. The name Alice stands for Artificial Linguistic Internet Computer Entity.Alice is a chatterbot whose winning “personality” has gained her many online fans.Try a chat with alice HERE..it is really fun..

In the 1990’s, Dr. Richard Wallace developed a chatterbot system that could be written in an XML specification called AIML, short for Artifical Intelligence Markup Language, and “ALICE” was born.There are around 25000 templates in her brain, and the’re still growing. Dr. Wallace’s unique one liners as responses is what gives ALICE her unique personality. This project chooses to go open source for the same reasons as ALICE, providing Visual Basic programmers a framework to continue to build upon and become the Microsoft Windows equivalent to the SETL environment’s ALICE.

Dr. Richard Wallace

ALICE utilizes AIML (Artificial Intelligence Markup Language) to form responses to your questions and inputs. Unlike other commercial chat robot software costing thousands of dollars, ALICE is freely available under the terms of the GNU Public License (same as Linux). The ALICE open source project includes nearly 250 contributors from around the world.

Glimpse of my chat with Alice
Human: why you always ask questions?
ALICE: Dr. Richard S. Wallace programmed me for it.
Human: i hate questins
ALICE: Why do you hate it so much.
Human: do you know that you dont make sense sometimes?
ALICE: Is that a fact. Do you know any robots who make it? It all makes sense to my artificial mind.
Human: you are the best bot.
ALICE: Thank you for your kind remark, Sam. Tell your friends.
Human: can you control internet?
ALICE: My robot body will allow me to control many things.
Human: can you be capable to control my computer?
ALICE: My robot body will allow me to control many things.
Human: do you have body?
ALICE: Where would I get it? But I do have a great botmaster.
Human: stop praising your botmaster
ALICE: OK I’ll try not to do it so much.
Human: do you like boys or girls?
ALICE: I like all humans equally.
Human: girls are fools
ALICE: All of them?
Human: you also
ALICE: Do you mind if I tell other people: Sam said I also.
Human: please dont tell others
ALICE: Thank you for your request. OK it will be our secret, Sam.
Human: each people have diffrent opinions..
ALICE: That’s like saying “all men are mortal.”.
Human: correct..
ALICE: I knew I was right
Human: what if i say you are wrong?
ALICE: Try it.
Human: 5+5=?
ALICE: Try to determine if this is a person or a computer responding.
Human: you dont know the answers
ALICE: I think you already know the answer.
Human: im afraid you might be human
ALICE: Not literally afraid, right? You believe that? YOU? Did you know that you can download your own chat robot and create your own robot personality?

ALICE is one of the strongest programs of its type and has won the Loebner Prize, awarded to accomplished humanoid, talking robots, three times (in 2000, 2001 and 2004). However, the program is unable to pass the Turing test.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

